Email this articleE-mail this story  Discuss this articleWrite letter to editor  Discuss this articleOrder a classified ad

NNSL Photo/Graphic

RAANT's new board of executives hopes to turn the fledgling society into a territory-wide association this year. Front: Suzette Montreuil, Rick Poltaruk, Tracey Bryant, Ardith Dean. Back: Tyler Thorpe, Stephen Smith, Matthew Grogono, Stephen Pretty, Richard Hintz, Norbert Poitras and Chic Callas. - Jennifer Geens/NNSL photo

RAANT elects new board

Jennifer Geens
Northern News Services

Yellowknife (June 21/04) - The Recording Artists Association of the Northwest Territories has elected an almost totally new board.

The one-year-old organization for musicians in the NWT suffered two setbacks earlier this year when the association lost money on the Cabin Fever Music Festival in March, and when former president Guy Langlois moved to Vancouver in April.

RAANT's new president is Rick Poltaruk. Chic Callas is vice-president, Suzette Montreuil is treasurer and Stephen Pretty is secretary.

The new board will continue the CD compilation project and performing arts grants, but will also develop a Web site and a brochure about RAANT to expand the association's reach across the NWT.