.E-mail This Article

Youth with a difference

Candace Underhay honoured

Phil Duffy
Northern News Services

Yellowknife (May 11/01) - Six deserving youths from around the NWT were given awards at the legislative assembly on the evening of Tuesday May 8, 2001 in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments.

Originally from Newfoundland, Yellowknife resident Candace Underhay was awarded the overall NWT Youth Achievement Award for her work as national spokesperson for Canadian Youth Against Impaired Driving.

Underhay, who is a Grade 11 student at St. Patrick high school had no clue she'd be the big winner.

"I had just arrived back in town, and although I knew this was Youth Week, and that this was an awards dinner for youth achievement, I had no idea that such an honor was going to be bestowed on me until I got here."

Because of commitments to scholastic studies and exams, the five other outstanding youths were not in attendance to recieve their awards, so local youths accepted on their behalf by proxy.

The award winners were Sharon Tourangeau from Fort Smith, Jackie Pascal from Fort McPherson, Mary Ann Kenny from Deline, Lee Roy Koyina from Rae-Edzo, and Jamie Moses from Wrigley.

"We were quite happy with the ceremonies tonight," said Youth Minister Roger Allen.

"The turnout was relatively small as it is a tough time of year for students to be travelling."

"We are however, going to do what we can to hold a formal gathering in each of the recipients home communities when we present them with their awards," he added.

Among the speakers at the ceremony was city councilor David Ramsay.

"I'm not too far removed from the status of youth myself, and as a municipality as a whole we understand the issues youths face in this city and are always trying to steer them in the right direction," he said.

The evening wrapped up with some gift giving after some acoustic guitar and vocal entertainment by John Tees and George Mandeville.