Council holding final meeting
KDEC thanks its supporters

Malcolm Gorrill
Northern News Services

Kugluktuk ( May 29/00) - A farewell tour wraps up in Kugluktuk next week.

The Kitikmeot Divisional Education Council will hold its final board meeting the week of June 5. As of July 1, KDEC, and all other education boards, will be integrated into the Government of Nunavut's Department of Education.

Earlier in May council members, plus director Jean Phelps and Kevin Niptanatiak, DEA development officer, travelled to Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay), Taloyoak, Gjoa Haven and Cambridge Bay.

Regarding that tour, plus the upcoming meeting in Kugluktuk, Phelps said Wednesday, "We're presenting plaques and mementoes to all current staff members on behalf of the Kitikmeot Divisional Education Council."

Phelps said: "We want to thank people for working with us and people who have been members of the Kitikmeot Divisional Education Council board over the last 12 years, and sort of celebrate the things they've done in the past."

Phelps has been director of KDEC for two years. The board has been in existence for 12 years, though until two years ago it was known as the Kitikmeot Board of Education.

"So it's a celebration of what's happened and a way, also, of looking forward to what's going to happen in the future," Phelps said.

KDEC members are chairperson Jean Ehaloak of Cambridge Bay; vice- chairperson Nauyaq Ugyuk of Taloyoak; Daniel Harvey of Kugluktuk; Beatrice Bernhardt of Cambridge Bay; George Porter Sr. of Gjoa Haven; and Sam Inaksajak of Kugaaruk.