New mayors and councils
Election brings some changes

Marty Brown
Northern News Services

RANKIN INLET (Dec 16/98) - The Kivalliq region has five new mayors, following a busy election night Monday.

Elie Kimmaliardjuk is the new mayor of Chesterfield Inlet, winning by 70 ballots. The new councillors in that community are Remi Aggark, Joe Issaluk, Jeannie Tautu and Jimmy Krako and Leonard Putulik, who were re-elected.

Simon Okpatauyak won by a landslide in Rankin Inlet. The new mayor will head up a council with newly-elected members Martha Hickes, Rhoda Karetak, Simon Kowmuk and Ross Tatty. Lavinia Brown was re-elected. In Rankin Inlet there were 1,010 people on the voters' list, only 35 per cent voted.

Four councillors were acclaimed in Coral Harbour: Emily Kudlak Beardsall, Leonie Napa Duffy, Emily Natakok and Patricia S. Netser.

Donat Milortok is the new mayor of Repulse Bay. Altogether, 18 people were nominated for four council positions which were won by Richard Angotialuk, Joseph Angotingoar, Darlene Kaunak and Vitaline Taparti.

Whale Cove had four vacant seats on council now to be filled by Amanda Ford, Annie Napayok and Marianne Ussak. Mary Nangmalik was re-elected. There were 133 eligible voters and 59 per cent turned out.

Fifty-five per cent of the voters turned out in Baker Lake to elect four councillors. They are Kenny Hachey, Thomas Kabloona, William Noah and David Webster. A byelection will fill the mayor's seat in the new year.

Ralph King is the new mayor of Arviat. David Alagalak, Mark Kalluak, Sheila Napayok, Sandy Ranahan and Joe Savikataaq fill the council chairs. Kalluak and Savikataaq were re-elected.

Kivalliq Inuit Association election results aren't available because not everyone has voted yet. Bad winter weather cancelled voting in Coral Harbour.

Returning officer Sandy Kusugak said on Tuesday that as soon as the weather clears, people would be voting for regional representatives and vice- president.